The Man Who Finally Died (1963)

Man-Who-Finally-Died_poster2Stanley Baker stars in this above-average conspiracy thriller that boasts Bavarian locations, some neat twists and a first-rate supporting cast that includes: Peter Cushing as a sinister doctor; Mai Zetterling, in one of her last film acting roles, as a femme fatale who may be much more than she seems; Niall MacGinnis as an amiable insurance investigator; and Eric Porter and Nigel Green as a pair of less than friendly cops with their own secret agenda. So, what’s it about? Jazz pianist and composer Joe Newman (Baker) is told that his father, a Nazi officer reported dead on the Eastern Front in 1942, is in fact still alive. So he heads off to Germany …

Minna, the hotel maid: “I was wondering why you wear those dark glasses?”
Joe: “I got a bit of dirt in my eye – when I was a kid”

On his arrival, Newman is told that his father did survive the war, but unfortunately has only just died and been buried. He also learns that he had recently married a much younger woman (Zetterling), though whether this would make him a bigamist is never explored. Joe is unconvinced and goes to the grave and discovers he was buried a Catholic, despite his being a Protestant. He also learns that the only mourner was Maria Wienewski (Georgina Ward), a refugee at the camp overseen by Cushing. Joe tries to get the police involved, but the local Inspector and his brutish sergeant (Eric Porter and Nigel Green) are clearly not interested. Joe notices that he is being followed by Brenner, a guest at his hotel. He breaks into his room and finds an insurance policy in his father’s name. It turns out that it was Brenner who called him, suspicious that his father may still be alive and that this is all an insurance scam.

Man-Who-Eventually-Died01

The film was based on a 7-part television serial, made by Lew Grade’s ATV company and originally broadcast on ITV in the Autumn of 1959 under their Suspense slot. The director was Quentin Lawrence, who also made the subsequent movie, and Nigel Green recreated his role as the violent local cop. Here are the details for the original TV broadcast in the London region:

  • Episode 1: The Call (12 September 1959)
  • Episode 2: The Grave (19 September 1959)
  • Episode 3: The Gloves (26 September 1959)
  • Episode 4: The Switch (3 October 1959)
  • Episode 5: The Hunt (10 October 1959)
  • Episode 6: The Clinic (17 October 1959)
  • Episode 7: The Final Death (24 October 1959)

Man-Who-Eventually-Died03

There are a couple of really impressive sequences in the film. The first, lasting a couple of minutes, has Joe sitting in a bar watching people dance as he goes over the events of the day – because he is a musician and a composer, in a way we are here shown the way he works, piecing various strands together, plucking out little soundbites like notes or fragments of a melody as he tries to put things together in his mind. Lawrence stages this very well, tracking very slowly in on Baker while regularly cutting to the gyrating limbs of the people on the dance floor. It is certainly the visual highpoint of the film. Much more obviously dramatic is the fairly overwrought sequence in which Joe insists that it was really Maria’s father who was buried in his father place and that the grave at the camp must be empty (you can watch the clip of this online, at the link below).

Man-Who-Eventually-Died02

Mai Zetterling made several films in the UK at this time and does reasonably well given that she doesn’t have a whole lot to work with here – we know she is holding something back and eventually ends up pulling a gun on poor Joe, but there is more to the character and she does well in managing to bring this out. Shortly afterwards she would stop acting and become a director of distinctive if controversial films on difficult topics. Cushing is his usual smooth self in a nicely equivocal role. The film in fact does turns over the apple cart very nicely in the final section – having convinced us that Joe knows exactly what is going on, it turns out he has got everything wrong. Baker is rather stolid and humourless as Joe, wearing sunglasses in an effort to look more like a cool musician but instead coming across merely as a grumpy foreigner, which is a bit of a shame. I also found Philip Green’s score strident in the extreme and robs practically any moment of the film from any subtlety it might have had. Niall MacGinnis does very well however in a sympathetic and humorous role as an insurance investigator who gets Joe to stir the pot for him and Alfred Burke is great as always in a small role as the family chauffeur.

Man-Who-Eventually-Died05

Even if the lead is a bit of a bore, this film is highly entertaining with a plot that keeps you watching, though admittedly it does get a bit repetitive in the middle before reaching a satisfying finish with some decent twists and a train climax. It also looks very good thanks to the ‘Scope cinematography of Stephen Dade, who together with AD BoB Porter, editor John Jympson and co-star Nigel Green would all reunite on Baker’s celebrated next film, the classic adventure Zulu.

DVD Availability: Network recently released in a barebones DVD with an anamorphic presentation from very good elements (but that could have benefitted from a better encoding at times).

The Man Who Finally Died (1963)
Director: Quentin Lawrence
Producer: Norman Williams
Screenplay: Louis Marks, Lewis Greifer (original TV serial)
Cinematography: Stephen Dade
Art Direction: Scott Macgregor
Music: Philip Green
Cast: Stanley Baker, Mai Zetterling, Peter Cushing, Nigel Green, Eric Porter, Georgina Ward, Niall MacGinnis, Barbara Everest, Alfred Burke, Brian Wilde

***** (3 fedora tips out of 5)

This entry was posted in Cold War, Espionage, Film Noir, Germany, Spy movies, Tuesday's Overlooked Film and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to The Man Who Finally Died (1963)

  1. Thanks as ever, Sergio, for a thorough and informed review.I always find it interesting when a film is based on a television series. I think it can be a challenge to keep the pacing and action sequences even and smooth. Glad that this one worked for you.

  2. John says:

    That trailer is certainly a teaser though Georgina Ward is just a too much for me there. I somewhat shamefacedly admit I was laughing a bit. Looks like I’d enjoy this movie. I’ll cross my fingers that I come across it one of these days. And Nigel Green! One of my favorites A famous cult movie featuring him in an over-the-top villain role and the book it was based on will be reviewed this coming Friday and Saturday at the home of obscure book reviews. This one not so obscure and very easy to purchase in a recent reprint edition. That’s my own teaser.

    • You tease you, John 🙂 Looking forward to that. The bit with Ward, who gets an ‘introducing’ credit here, is the one fairly hysterical moment int he film – they do however truly go for it!

  3. Colin says:

    I haven’t gotten round to seeing this yet – I bought it a while back and left it unwatched in Ireland on my last visit. I had heard it’s so-so but the cast is excellent and those British B&W widescreen mysteries of the era always please me.

  4. Mike says:

    Great stuff. I bought this a little while ago – it came in one of those slim-disc holders – and watched it, mainly due to an insistence on catching anything that features Peter Cushing. It was no instant classic, but it was definitely worth seeing and I have come to really enjoy Stanley Baker thanks to thrillers like this and Hell is a City. I suppose it’s the ‘powder keg’ quality he brings to his performances, the feeling he could utterly lose it at any moment, as though the entire reason he spends much of this film behind shades has nothing to do with coolness but so that his opponents can’t see the burning whites of his eyes (or something).

    • You are spot on Mike about Baker, Hell Drivers being another that springs to mind of that ilk. Did you also think the encoding was not always tip top? Really annoyed me in places as the film elements were evidently almost pristine. I got the same slipcases DVD and indeed have about a dozen like that on my shelves at home, just waiting to be cracked open. I hope to review plenty more in the near future – next up is a rather good Francis Durbridge Network released recently …

      • Mike says:

        Hmm, I don’t remember any encoding issues but your write-up has made me want to watch it again so I’ll check that out. More of the same sort of thing would be just fine. It was an impulse purchase from Fopp in Manchester, and I am in a mood for similar so will be keeping an eye out on the Fedora.

        • Thanks Mike – be curious to know what you think. The basic print looked very good, but I started to notice (epsecially isuing the zoom option) that there was a lot of minor artefacting, which was a shame – in no sense a deal breaker, but so avoidable in this day and age.

  5. The clip contained some very familiar faces – that was quite the British cast. I never liked Stanley ?Baker, I don’t know why, but this does look like a good entertaining film in a certain genre. Thanks for the usual great review.

    • Thanks Moira – I do like Baker overall though only a few of his films seem to have survived. Quite soon I plan to review The Criminal, his first collaboration with Joseph Losey – have you seen Accident, their later film with Dirk Bogarde scripted by Harold Pinter? Really impressive.

  6. Sarah says:

    Looks good. I love the image of Peter Cushing. And the title is perfect.

  7. realthog says:

    I must get round to watching this again. Reading your excellent writeup, I realized just how much I’d forgotten of this movie. Which says something about the movie, I guess . . . Still, with Zetterling and Portman in there, it’s gotta be worth the rewatch.

    • Well, yes, it does say something abotu the film I suppose – it is very typical of the kind of post-war conspiracy stories doing the rounds at the time, involcing the Nazis and the Russkies,both in print and on TV, but is none the less made with great craftsmanship.

  8. Sergio, there’s not much I can say except, thank you, for introducing a film I didn’t know about. I hadn’t noticed your new banner until I read about it in comments. It’s very nice and I think your dear nieces would be delighted. I miss the gentleman with the fedora, though.

    • Thanks Prashant. Yes, I was sorry to say goodbye to Edmond O’Brien (as featured in the 19456 Noir classic The Killers) but I had great fun with my gang taking the photo and then adding it to the site

  9. tracybham says:

    A lovely film review. I agree about your comments that a B&W film is attractive. I was surprised to notice your nice new banner after it was pointed out. I can’t believe I missed that. I guess I go straight for content. I do like the photo.

    • Thanks Tracy – well, the new banner was very much a bit of fun with my amazing nieces – and I don’t believe they will ever let me change it again – but don’t get me started on the uncle business or I’ll just start gushing again 🙂

Leave a Reply

