Jago & Litefoot

One of the smartest decisions the Big Finish production company ever made was to further extend its Doctor Who audio releases by creating its range of Companion Chronicles talking books. And one of their finest releases from that range was The Mahogany Murderers, featuring theatre manager Henry Gordon Jago and police pathologist Professor George Litefoot.

They originally made their (sole) TV appearance in the 1977 Victorian extravaganza, The Talons of Weng-Chiang by Robert Holmes, a story which is seen by most fans as one of the very best, if not the best, Doctor Who adventures. It was a six-part season finale that climaxed the first three years of Tom Baker’s tenure in the role, with the actor at the height of his popularity.

The duo of upperclass gentleman Professor Litefoot with the voluble cockney showman Henry Gordon Jago was immediately recognised as being a winning combination and there was apparently even talk of a spin off comedy TV series at the time. Cut to over thirty years later … And perhaps the second best idea Big Finish has ever had!

For this listener little has matched the delight of Jago and Litefoot being spun off into their own series of fantastical ‘infernal investigations’ set in the Baghdad on the Thames atmosphere of Late Victorian London, reuniting Benjamin and Baxter as the fruity duo – these releases are amongst the cream of Big Finish’s output. There is lots of variety, including one series set in the 1960s and another that introduced Arthur Conan Doyle as a sidekick. Lisa Bowerman directed pretty much all the episodes and also played Ellie, a most exceptional barmaid, with Conrad Asquith very welcome in his return as Quick from the original production of Talons. In the main the series was script-edited by Justin Richards and the fabulous theme tune was by Jamie Robertson.

The series concluded much too soon with its thirteenth season, following the death of Trevor Baxter in July 2017. A 14th season had been planned and scripted but was cancelled rather than face re-casting the role of Litefoot. It did however emerge in 2021 with the scripts adapted as single-narrator audio books, with Benjamin and Bowerman performing two of the four adventures. The series of proper full-cast audio productions did however get a special send-off with the one-off release, Jago and Litefoot Forever, released in May 2018, that used pre-existing recordings of Baxter in a new story. Benjamin has since played Jago twice more: first in the sixth season of the Diary of River Song spin-off starring Alex Kingston, released in August 2019, for another story by Paul Morris that brought the story full circle and back to the era of The Talons of Weng-Chiang. To this one can now add an additional adventure by Morris, Merry Christmas, Mr Jago, set in the same era, this one part of the Paternoster Gang series, released in October 2020. If one includes the 2021 audio book series, that brings the total to 68 adventures, all approximately one-hour each, with the one-off Jago & Litefoot & Strax release standing out as a two-hour adventure.

To purchase the sets from Big Finish, and you really, really should, visit the company’s website here: bigfinish.com/collections/v/jago-litefoot-infernal-investigators

Roughly in order of release, here are the Jago and Litefoot adventures (with links to my reviews where relevant):

Companion Chronicles

Season 1

Season 2

  • Litefoot and Sanders by Justin Richards
  • The Necropolis Express by Mark Morris
  • The Theatre of Dreams by Jonathan Morris
  • The Ruthven Inheritance by Andy Lane

Season 3

Season 4

Doctor Who Specials

Doctor Who: Voyage to Venus by Jonathan Morris
Doctor Who: Voyage to the New World by Matthew Sweet
Doctor Who: The Justice of Jalxar by John Dorney
The Sixth Doctor: The Last Adventure: Stage Fright by Matt Fitton
Doctor Who: The Beast of Kravenos by Justin Richards

Season 5

  • The Age of Revolution by Jonathan Morris
  • The Case of the Gluttonous Guru by Marc Platt
  • The Bloodchild Codex by Colin Brake
  • The Last Act by Justin Richards

Season 6


  • The Skeleton Quay by Jonathan Morris
  • Return of the Repressed by Matthew Sweet
  • Military Intelligence by George Mann
  • The Trial of George Litefoot by Justin Richards

Season 7

  • The Monstrous Menagerie by Jonathan Morris
  • The Night of 1000 Stars by James Goss
  • Murder at Moorsey Manor by Simon Barnard and Paul Morris
  • The Wax Princess by Justin Richards

Season 8


  • Encore of the Scorchies by James Goss
  • The Backwards Men by Andy Lane
  • Jago & Litefoot & Patsy by Simon Barnard and Paul Morris
  • Higson & Quick by Justin Richards

Season 9

  • bfpjlcd11_jago_and_litefoot_series_11_cover_largeThe Flying Frenchmen by Jonathan Morris
  • The Devil’s Dicemen by Justin Richards
  • Island of Death by Simon Barnard & Paul Morris
  • Return of the Nightmare by Justin Richards

Season 10

  • The Case of the Missing Gasogene by Simon Barnard & Paul Morris
  • The Year of the Bat by Jonathan Morris
  • The Mourning After by James Goss
  • The Museum of Curiosities by Justin Richards

From the Worlds of Doctor Who Specials:


Mind Games by Justin Richards
Jago & Litefoot & Strax by Justin Richards

Season 11

  • Jago and Son by Nigel Fairs
  • Maurice by Matthew Sweet
  • The Woman in White by Simon Barnard and Paul Morris
  • Masterpiece by Justin Richards

Season 12

  • Picture This by Justin Richards
  • The Flickermen by Simon Barnard and Paul Morris
  • School of Blood by Paul Morris
  • Warm Blood by Justin Richardsshort_trips_jlact1_cover_large

Doctor Who: Short Trips
The Jago & Litefoot Revival: Act One by Jonathan Barnes
The Jago & Litefoot Revival: Act Two by Jonathan Barnes

Season 13

  • The Stuff of Nightmares by Paul Morris
  • Chapel of Night by Jonathan Barnes
  • How the Other Half Lives by Matthew Sweet
  • Too Much Reality by Justin Richards

2018 Special

  • Jago & Litefoot Forever by Paul Morris

The Diary of River Song – Season 6

  • The Talents of Greel by Paul Morris

The Paternoster Gang: Heritage – Season 4

  • Merry Christmas, Mr Jago by Paul Morris

Season 14 (in audiobooks format)

  • The Red Hand by Simon Barnard and Paul Morris, adapted by Paul Morris and narrated by Jamie Newall

  • The Laughing Policeman by Jonathan Barnes, adapted by Julian Richards and narrated by Duncan Wisbey
  • The Corridors of Power by Paul Morris, adapted by Paul Morris and narrated by Lisa Bowerman

  • A Command Performance by Justin Richards and Julian Richards, adapted by Julian Richards and narrated by Christopher Benjamin

  • jal12_contents_1410

12 Responses to Jago & Litefoot

  1. Pingback: THE MAHOGANY MURDERERS by Andy Lane | Tipping My Fedora

  2. Pingback: SHERLOCK HOLMES: THE REIFICATION OF HANS GERBER by George Mann | Tipping My Fedora

  3. Pingback: The Big Finish Companion – volume 1 | Audio Aficionado

  4. Pingback: JAGO IN LOVE by Nigel Fairs | Tipping My Fedora

  5. Pingback: BEAUTIFUL THINGS by John Dorney | Tipping My Fedora

  6. Pingback: THE LONELY CLOCK by Matthew Sweet | Tipping My Fedora

  7. Pingback: THE HOURGLASS KILLERS by Justin Richards | Tipping My Fedora

  8. Pingback: THE ETERNAL ACTRESS by Nev Fountain | Tipping My Fedora

  9. Pingback: Mysteries in Audio: Podcast | Tipping My Fedora

  10. Pingback: The Age of Revolution | Tipping My Fedora

  11. Pingback: Callan is back … on audio | Tipping My Fedora

  12. Pingback: Jago & Litefoot – Series 1 | Tipping My Fedora

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s