Fedora’s 400,000 visits

(image copyright: "D Sharon Pruitt)

(image copyright: D Sharon Pruitt)

Well, we pause briefly for a minor celebration here at Fedora …

Late yesterday this blog sailed past its 400,000th visit, which seems incredible to me – and that’s not including the 113,000 plus visits from spammers (a curse on their tin heads empty hearts).

In looking back at what have been some of the most popular posts since this blog began ion January 2011, one can see that inevitably those composed of ‘best of’ lists tend to do well … but for me there are some eye-opening other results too and a surprising fascinating with a particular letter of the alphabet …

So ignoring the home page, when it come to individual posts, here are the top 11

Top 20 Spy movies More stats 55,807
Top 20: Private Eye movies More stats 22,422
O is for … OBELISTS AT SEA (1932) by C. Daly King More stats 16,179
Suchet to film remaining Poirot stories More stats 11,887
Top 101 Film & TV Mysteries More stats 8,061
In Praise of … COLUMBO More stats 7,426
Top 100 Mystery Books More stats 6,030
Top 10: Film Noir More stats 5,669
O is for … THE ORIGIN OF EVIL (1951) by Ellery Queen More stats 5,139
James Bond teases in SKYFALL More stats 5,097
C is for … John Dickson Carr More stats 3,924

Along with lots of love for such icons as Poirot and James Bond there also seems to be something special about the letter O – and darn if there aren’t a lot of espionage fans out there too … who knew the blogosphere at large could be so discerning?

I think this is all really great going for an unassuming little venture like this that has only been out of the starting gate for just over three years. As always, thanks to you all for engaging so often and so fruitfully (you repeat offenders know who you are and you have my gratitude) – and most importantly, thanks for sopping by and teaching me so much.

Your faithful servant,

Sergio (Tipping My Fedora)


This entry was posted in 'In praise of ...'. Bookmark the permalink.

69 Responses to Fedora’s 400,000 visits

  1. Margot Kinberg says:

    Sergio – Well done and a sincere congratulations! I am most impressed. Not surprised mind you, because your blog is excellent. But impressed.

  2. le0pard13 says:

    Darth Vader said it best. “Impressive. Most impressive.” Well done and congratulations, Sergio!

  3. TracyK says:

    Very impressive, Sergio. As I look through those top posts, I see quite a few that I really enjoyed too, so it does not surprise me. The heavy lead of the Top 20 Spy Movies does surprise me. Not that I disagree; I love lists and I love spy movies (and books). But such a huge lead over the others.

    • First off, thanks TracyK for all the great support – secondly, well, as wonderful as my post might be, Google indexing has a lot to do with it, not to mention some of the images I embedded I suspect …

  4. Tony Renner says:

    Congratulations! My blog made it to 4 page views today!

  5. Bev Hankins says:

    Woo Hoo! Way to go, Sergio. But I’m not surprised. Not one little bit. You do an awesome job here.

  6. neer says:

    Congratulations Sergio. Very impressive, very deserving. Here’s to more of such celebrations.

  7. Kelly says:

    Congratulations! I have a lesser milestone creeping up on me, so I understand the pride. It’s nice to have our musings validated.

  8. Congrats Sergio. All my top posts are Top… something as well, along with obsessions with Sherlock and The House In Goblin Wood for some reason. Roll on the half million mark

    • Did you ever figure out what it was about Goblin Wood that made it stand out so much (beyond it being a classic story by a fantastic writer I mean) – as ever Steve, without your example I simply wouldn’t have tried this, so thanks again.

      • It’s on some US creative writing syllabus – odd, given how hard it is to find a copy. My bumps on that are at the same time every year. I’m still tempted to write an analysis that is 100% horsecrap to catch any potential plagiarists out there. Let’s see… Dr Gideon Merrivale is investigating a murder where a goblin is witnessed committing the crime…

        • That sound great Steve (mind you, does the Interweb need even more disinformation I ask myself ..?)

          • Yeah, it wouldn’t be fair to the real readers… it reminds me of a biography of Newton that was online about ten years ago that had a proper opening paragraph but the devolved into how he invented basketball and break dancing. My colleagues who taught physics saw that printed out few times…

          • Ouch! I actually do a little bit of Wikipedia policing in my spare seconds but it can be a scary old world out there when ti comes to “just the facts”

  9. Colin says:

    Sergio, that is mighty impressive my friend. Those are all great articles at the top of your hit list, and you’ve earned all those visits through hard work, entertaining and incisive writing, and a wonderfully open attitude to all who visit.
    My heartiest congratulations, and a wee bit of envy too. Keep ’em coming!

    • Thanks for all the incredible support Colin – I bet if you add the numbers from the new and the old site you’d kick the dust in all our faces though!

      • Colin says:

        Listen, it’s always a pleasure to visit here. Aside from all the fun chat about old familiar stuff, you’ve given me so many pointers towards books and films I’d never heard of. It’s a struggle to keep up at times, but a very enjoyable one for all that.

        • I do think that at it’s best it’s the good-natured sharing of information as well as opinion that makes this blogging thing worthwhile – the digressions alone are priceless!

          • Colin says:

            Couldn’t agree more. There’s an awful lot of bile around the internet but sites like this are a real antidote – a place where we can all chat about, and learn about, the stuff we like in a very friendly atmosphere.

            And it’s good, a relief even, to hear you refer to the myriad digressions in such positive terms. Having dragged lots of perfectly focused discussions far off topic so many times, it’s nice to know!

          • I could hardly point the finger, no w could I? It’s getting my brain to stay on topic that’s the hard bit chum 🙂

          • Colin says:

            Aye, but what would be the point of that?
            There’s so many little nuggets that come from the various asides.

          • It’s the best part mate!

  10. Speaking of off-topic, are you having any trouble with getting the new Twitter widget to work? It was working fine until a couple of days ago and now I can’t get it to appear …

  11. kaggsysbookishramblings says:

    Congrats! That’s amazing, but very much deserved!

  12. TomCat says:

    Congratulations for reaching another milestone, Sergio! Well deserved. And I just realize I completely forgot to mark the fourth anniversary of my blog last month.

  13. Well done, Sergio! Your blog deserves every one of those visits, and many, many more in future. You force me to raise the bar for my own blog and that’s not an easy thing to do, mind you. All the best, Sergio.

  14. Bill Selnes says:

    Sergio: Congratulations on a well deserved achievement.

    Those “Letters” are for —- have some of my most frequent visits. Somehow the image of “N” I had for Stuart Neville ended up on Google images for the letter “N”. Thousands of views occurred. I have never been sure how many went on to read the actual post.

    • Thanks very much much Bill – most admit, I altered one of the O posts just to see if it was the graphic rather than the posts and sad to say the numbers went down … shame that – darn scientific method wins again!

  15. Ela says:

    Congratulations, Sergio! Your energy in posting, and sheer breadth of reading and viewing are awe-inspiring. I don’t always comment as often as I read your posts, since yet another variation of “I haven’t read that, but your review makes it sounds fantastic” probably gets a bit wearing… 🙂

  16. Great stuff Sergio, congratulations!

  17. Congrats! Here’s to another 400,000 visits…

  18. Jose Ignacio says:

    Sergio. I’m quite impressed with your achievement. Good job.

  19. mpreeti says:

    Not surprised Sergio, excellent blog and I found so many gems browsing your blogs. Great job and congratulations!

  20. Todd Mason says:

    One advantage of WordPress raises its head again…Blogger will make you try to estimate how many of my similar number of hits are simply spammers…but the care and attention you put to every post would, if anything, deserve twice as much traffic. Happy 400K, Sergio!

    • Todd Mason says:

      I suspect some hopeful folks are wondering if they’ve found an altogether different kind of O is for… topic…atop those actually looking for the subject matter.

    • You’re kidding – it doesn’t even pride itself on how much spam it’s blocking? Tut tut 🙂 One thing I can tell you is what a tremendous bump Fedora gets on Tuesdays and I’m sure I’m not the only one – thanks very much for all the support mate.

  21. John says:

    I’m more stunned by the stats of your individual posts. I keep dreaming of reaching more than 3000 hits in a single week. God knows if that will *ever* happen! As everyone else as pointed out it’s all well deserved. I think yours is one of the few blogs I regularly visit where I read every single post. Keep up the fantastic work!

  22. Congratulations! With admiration and kindly envy, Ron

  23. Jeff Flugel says:

    Congrats on a very impressive achievement indeed, Sergio! That’s a whole heck of a lot of visits (easily more than 10 times what I’ve gotten on my site.) Well deserved, too, mate – you always provide top quality work, and are prolific to boot…Here’s to the next benchmark: a million hits!

  24. Yvette says:

    Not surprising at all, Sergio. Yours is a fabulous blog – one of the most enthusiastic, one of the very best. Belated congratulations, my friend.

  25. Such a great milestone – congrats Sergio! I’ve noted some heavy espionage fans on my
    Murder in Common blog as well and was a bit puzzled (and pleased nonetheless.)

  26. Piero says:

    Auguri vivissimi, Sergio!
    Oggi mi è stato finalmente pubblicato un lungo articolo su due romanzi di Berkeley, sul Blog Mondadori. Casomai ti interessasse andarlo a leggere, l’indirizzo è :

    http://blog.librimondadori.it/blogs/ilgiallomondadori/2014/03/24/2-romanzi-a-confronto-di-anthony-berkeley-the-wychford-poisoning-case-vs-not-to-be-taken/

    Ciao.
    Piero

Leave a comment