Sherlock – A Study in Podcasting

Bill Lengeman over at his Traditional Mysteries blog has just posted a podcast which discusses whether there is any more mileage left in the Sherlock Holmes canon. The participants are a particularly motley crew, featuring that venerable podcaster Les Blatt of Classic Mysteries, John F. Norris of Pretty Sinister Books, the Puzzle Doctor behind In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel and Patrick of At The Scene of the Crime – both of whom have reviewed the new Steven Moffat/Mark Gatiss TV series Sherlock of late, with special kudos reserved for season 2 – and with a few interjections from your humble servant too.

It is well worth a listen – just click here:

This entry was posted in Podcast, Sherlock Holmes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sherlock – A Study in Podcasting

  1. Patrick says:

    I have no idea why that derivative hack from ‘At the Scene of the Crime’ was invited– if others hadn’t already started blogs, he’d never have thought of creating one to bring his reviews together in one place!

    But seriously, I did enjoy myself tremendously. I love reading all your articles/reviews/whatever-you’d-like-to-call-’em, and it was wonderful to hear the voice belonging to the author. (I believe we all got slightly carried away with excitement in discussing the most recent batch of “Sherlock” episodes, though…)

    • You were great – though of course you and Les had the edge of course having already appeared ‘live’ as it were on the web! I thought we all acquitted ourselves with honour. I agree, we probably did get very Sherlocked (mea culpa) but then if we had perhaps talked a bit longer after the bit on the TV show was out of the way then that would have suited the others who had yet to catch the show. Really looking forward to doing it again – incidentally, my back-up copy on Audacity, even when compressed to mp3, came out quite well so I would reccomend that as a back up perhaps.

      • Patrick says:

        I’m curious about that program– does it record your voice as well, since it doesn’t get processed and come out through the computer speaker?

        As for my “live” appearance, I’ve expressed horror multiple times at how it sounds to me now, but it did manage to dispel my wrath somewhat… of course, as it happens, I ended up hating “The Act of Roger Murgatroyd” even more!!! (It was an eventful 2011. I managed to survive several bad pastiches, terrible editions that gave away the solution, a poor audiobook that made Cordelia Gray sound like a Care Bear, and even a Mickey Spillane novel. I don’t think 2012 could possibly top that.)

        BTW, I’ve progressed via audiobook much of the way through “The Hound of the d’Urbervilles” that I mentioned during our discussion. With the exception of the most recent story, they’ve all been very good. It isn’t simply a Sherlock Holmes story through Moriarty’s eyes, nor is it Moriarty solving crimes. It manages to be a very twisted reflection of the Holmes universe. It’s quite fascinating. I’ll tackle it in more detail when I review it, possibly later this week.

        • So not just a play on words on the Hardy book then! Sounds fascinating, very interested to hear what you have to say abotu it.

          The good thing about Adacity is that is just takes the feed from the speakers so it all levels out quite nicely – you have to turn off all the audio features of your computer (like keyboard clocks and pings for new emails and so on) as otherwise they are recorded too, but that’s easy to do. It’s free and very easy to use and you can also edit the content after words quite easily and add music and so on. More details here: http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

Leave a comment