Mr Campion Returns

Some great news reaches us from those very nice people at Ostara Publishing. In the year which sees the 25th anniversary of the founding of the Margery Allingham Society, Ostara is to publish new editions of the two novels to feature Allingham’s famous detective Albert Campion which were written by her husband, following her death in 1966.

Ostara-Farthing-Falcon-web

Mr Campion’s Farthing and Mr Campion’s Falcon, first published in 1969 and 1970, were written by Philip ‘Pip’ Youngman Carter, the artist and journalist who was married to Margery Allingham for almost 40 years  (They met aged 17 and were secretly engaged at 18, marrying five years later). Youngman Carter was an acknowledged (though un-credited) collaborator on many Allingham novels and  designed the dust-jackets for several of them. After her death, Youngman Carter completed her unfinished novel Cargo of Eagles, which was published posthumously in 1968.

Youngman Carter’s Mr Campion mysteries are now available in trade paperback and, for the first time, as eBooks. For full details see www.ostarapublishing.co.uk

This entry was posted in Albert Campion, Margery Allingham, Ostara Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Mr Campion Returns

  1. Great news! I’ve never managed to track down copies of these!

  2. Kelly says:

    Neat. I didn’t know her husband had continued the books. His name sounds like he could be a character himself.

  3. TracyK says:

    This is very good news. I do have copies of these that I found years ago at a book sale … and have not read them yet. But I love the covers for these new editions and I am glad that they will make them more easily available.

  4. westwoodrich says:

    Some cunning Photoshopping going on with those covers. I want to see that Lagonda on the moon next…

    They’re great books, though, with an autumnal end-of-a-career tone. Well worth a new edition.

  5. Margot Kinberg says:

    Sergio – Oh, thanks for sharing this excellent news. I’d love to get a chance to read them.

  6. Jeff Flugel says:

    Thanks for this nice news alert, Sergio! I must admit to a certain trepidation in reading novels in a series that are not written by the original author, but it seems some of the folks commenting here hold these Youngman Carter books in high esteem, so these might be worth giving a try. They look like handsome editions, at any rate. As I love me some Campion (Allingham is my favorite of the Big 5 Grand Dames of Detection), I’ll keep an eye out for these. Cheers!

Leave a comment