Two years of Fedora tips

I can’t quite believe it but this blog started two years ago today. A lot has happened here since then but the nicest byproduct has definitely been the regular exchanges of views with the many fine bloggers out there on everything from Dorothy L. Sayers’ views on clergymen to just how tongue-in-cheek Mickey Spillane’s writing really was. To offset the indulgence of this celebration is the opportunity to thank some of this blog’s regular contributors and to bestow at least a little largesse after very generously being included in the votes for Best Blog of 2012 from 6 erstwhile colleagues out there (thanks very much Bev, Colin, Jeff Flugel and Jeff Pierce, John and Neer). To reciprocate in kind, here are my votes below:

Blog of the Year Award 6 star jpeg

Here are the rules:

1 Select the blogs you think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award
2 Write a blog post and tell us about the blogs you have chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ them with their award.
3 Please include a link back to this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award at The Thought Palette. and include these ‘rules’ in your post
4 Let the blogs you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the ‘rules’ with them
5 You can now also join the Facebook group – click ‘like’ on this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012Award Facebook group and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience
6 As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar

So, in strict alphabetical order (sorta) here are my selections for the blogs I think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award

You’re all tops with me folks and thanks very much for sharing – normal service will be resumed here next Friday so here’s looking forward to a great 2013 in very good company.

Cheers!

This entry was posted in 'In praise of ...'. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Two years of Fedora tips

  1. Colin says:

    Heartiest congratulations on the two years mate – I wasn’t a regular for the first one, but I’ve been doing my best to make up since! Long may that fedora be tipped!

    And thanks for the award – I get to add another star now I think.

  2. le0pard13 says:

    Congrats, Sergio 😀

  3. curtis evans says:

    Thanks for the mention, Sergio. Your blog was one of the first mystery/crime blog I started following regularly. I think it’s great.

  4. Margot Kinberg says:

    Sergio – Congratulations on two excellent years of blogging. I learn something every time I visit here and I’m looking forward to many more years. Thanks too – very much – for the kind award. Wow! That means a lot to me, especially coming from you. Best wishes and see you next week!

  5. Many thanks also, Sergio. And congratulations on a great two years…

  6. TomCat says:

    Congratulations and thanks for the mention, Sergio! Here’s to another year and I hope you’re enjoying your first taste of Baantjer. 😉

  7. Congratulations on your richly-deserving awards, Sergio, and a big thank you for the kind mention. Like Ms. Kinberg says, it means a lot coming from you and your exclusive blog.

  8. Jeff Flugel says:

    Felicitations on two years blogging, Sergio! That’s an impressive achievement, especially at the high rate of quality (and quantity) you produce. Thanks very much for passing an award on to me, much appreciated! Am keen to see what good stuff you come out with in 2013! All the best, mate!

  9. piero says:

    Hooray, I’m here too!
    Thank You, Sergio. I am a little depressed lately, and I wrote in a comment at the bottom of my article on the blog Mondadori: thanks for giving me energy.

  10. Patrick says:

    Congratulations, Sergio! My, has it been two years already? I’ve had such fun following your blog and suspiciously examining anything that sounds postmodern (:wink:) that I’ve hardly noticed. It’s been terrific fun following your blog — it’s always one of the most intelligent and insightful out there, and I enjoy our little disagreements because they always seem to spark an interesting discussion. Here’s hoping to many more years.

  11. Todd Mason says:

    Your citation of SF is as kind as it is undeserved (at least in the company it’s keeping); thanks! Hm…this means your blog started up about when the Overlooked A/V started….

    • It’s a great site Todd, congrats and thanks very much for the kind words and the support. Did it really start only then? I remember it was the lovely Yvette Banek who suggested I get in touch – how it all comes flooding back! I’ll be back in harness in February and thanks for adding some of my ‘back catalogue’ items to your excellent weekly roundups!

  12. Patti Abbott says:

    Thanks, Sergio. And I have to say, your blog is one of my favorites because of the information I get on whatever book or movie you discuss. Really a treat.

  13. John says:

    Gee whiz, all my acceptance speeches are wrung out, mate. And I could never be as eloquent as Jodie Foster was a few weeks ago. That was some speech! I’ll just say thanks. E buon secondo! (that’s probably bastardized Italian) This is truly one of my favorite stops on the blog trail I blaze.

    • You’re a real gent and I certainly wouldn’t want to face the blogosphere without some Sinister Books! It was a sensational moment but that Jodie never laid a finger on ya!

  14. TracyK says:

    Congratulations on two years of blogging. That is a lot of work and a lot of great posts. Thanks very much for the award. I will soon be coming up on one year of blogging, and I appreciate your encouragement. I am awed to be listed with such a great group of bloggers.

  15. westwoodrich says:

    Twice my age! Happy anniversary Sergio.

  16. Thank you for the kind endorsement of The Rap Sheet, Sergio!

  17. Bev Hankins says:

    Congrats on two years of fine blogging, Sergio! Love visiting your place and reading your wonderfully insightful and detailed reviews. And thanks much for the return mention. I’m not much of a speech maker, so I’ll just say I could never have done it without terrific followers and fellow bloggers like you.

  18. neer says:

    Putting me in such exalted company! It’s extremely kind of you. Congratulations on two years of blogging and the six-stars, you deserve each one of them. Looking forward to February and the resumption of the posts.

    Thanks once again.

  19. piero says:

    Auguri, Sergio, per il tuo blog!
    Devi aiutarmi: vorrei anch’io dare il mio contributo per l’elezione del blog migliore ma materialmente non ho capito come debba fare. Mi spieghi tu, i vari passi?
    Grazie.
    Piero

    • Ciao Piero – a, ma guarda che e’ semplice (se non non ci riuscivo proprio). Se fai click qui vedrai che ci sono tutte le istruzioni. Comunque devi soltanto fare le tue ‘nomination’, poi copia le sei regole come ho fatto io dal quel sito a mettile in un post, metti i siti e poi fai sapere ai i vari siti che li hai nominati. Dal sito puoi presendere le vari immagini con stelle per mettere sia sul messaggio originale o la version piu piccola da mettere nei margini della pagina.

  20. Jose Ignacio says:

    Congratulations Sergio on your blogoversary.

  21. Yvette says:

    Thanks, Sergio, you’re a peach. And congratulations. I love your blog because it is so well-written and there’s always something new and interesting to learn. Two years have just flown by. 🙂

    I wish I’d seen more of the movies you talk about, but I so enjoy the writing that I’m rarely deterred.

Leave a comment