Book to Movie Challenge – quarterly update

BTM2-poster3This year I am co-hosting the Book to Movie Challenge run by Katie over at Doing Dewey. The premise is simple – review both a book and the movie or TV adaptation made from it – there are 5 levels:

Movie Fan – review 3 books and their movies
Movie Devotee – 6 books and their movies
Movie Lover – 9 books and their movies
Movie Aficionado – 12 books and their movies
Movie Auteur – 24 books and their movies

Here is how we have been doing in Quarter 2:

Among the highlights for the second quarter (April to June) we must include Christine’s SF and graphic novel reviews at Buckling Bookshelves including the Divergent and Persepolis series; Wendy’s coverage of the much-filmed Stephen King classic Carrie at Wensend; the mighty TracyK tackled In the Heat of the Night, the first of John Ball’s books about Virgil Tibbs that was made into a ground-breaking and Oscar-winning movie at Bitter Tea and Mystery as well as The Golden Spiders, from the classic Nero Wolfe series; Jessica had included reviews of all-time favourite adventure books such as The Count of Monte Cristo and the Scarlet Pimpernel, beloved by film and TV at her Books: A True Story; and Ken Follett’s monumental Pillars of the Earth by Shay over at Required Reading. Claudia over at Reading on Borrowed Time offered a fine look at that modern classic that is The Fault in our Stars. For my torrent of book and film reviews, you can click here (if you dare).

To keep up with the reviews as they are posted, click here and if you would like to join up, please do – just sign up over at Katie’s Doing Dewey blog.

Be seeing you …

This entry was posted in 2014 Book to Movie Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Book to Movie Challenge – quarterly update

  1. Thanks so much for the mention! I’m loving this challenge and reading many more books for it than I originally thought (gotten a little behind on the reviews though — good there is a lot more time left in 2014!) Planning to do a master movie round-up post soon(-ish) with my thoughts on the corresponding films — I always have a hard time reviewing them side by side it seems!

  2. Thanks for stopping by and for suggesting my review! I am in agreement with Christine, I am finding more thrill and motivation in the Book to Movie Challenge 🙂

  3. TracyK says:

    I am having a great time reading / watching / reviewing books and movies, Sergio. I have a few more planned for the near future and some are not even crime fiction.

  4. Hi Sergio, I’m assuming you’re back…with a bang. I hope you’d a wonderful holiday Down Under. Tempting as this challenge is I’ll have to give it a miss as I have a lot on my plate which has nothing to do with blogging though the latter has taken a hit with fewer posts in recent months. I’ll keep track of your BTM challenge. Good luck!

    • Thanks Prashant – actually not really back, just a one off as it was my turn to post the status update on the challenge – back to blogging on the 18th! I am currently enjoying some cold but magnificent weather in Sydney 🙂

  5. Kelly says:

    Hmmm, I might unofficially join in. I’m currently reading something that inspired a film I recently saw. Does it count if the review is MOSTLY about the book?

  6. Richard says:

    YOU’RE BACK. That’s the good news. So far as I know, there’s no bad news. I probably won’t be doing this, as I’m not much of a movie watcher, but I’ll follow along.

    • Thanks Richard – apologies for any mixed signals 🙂 – well, if you are ever inclined to include a quick movie review with your reviews, you know who to call! 🙂

  7. Richard says:

    Oh. I guess I should have read the previous comments and your answers. Well I hope you are back soon.

    • Thanks chum – Oz is keeping me very occupied (and I don;t just mean the jet lag) but back on the 18th I will be … with a book and movie review of a book by Evelyn Anthony, who turns 86 today

Leave a comment