The Columbo podcast

Today is my Dad’s 79th birthday and he loves this show (almost as much as the Montalbano series). So, I’ll keep this short and sweet. Columbo is my favourite US cop show (I have explained why elsewhere, along with a list of the my top 10 Columbo episodes). Peter Falk played the role in 69 feature-length TV movies shown between 1968 and 2003. There is a terrific podcast, hosted by Scottish Columbo fan Gerry and his friend and self-confessed ‘Columbo newbie’ Iain, that devotes each episode to one of the TV Movies and which I heartily recommend, not least because their head-to-head dynamic is modelled on that of the show itself as they pick over each little facet of the story and the character motivations, just as the good lieutenant would do. It began a couple fo years ago and the project is done – all of the 69 episodes now has its own podcast, available for streaming and download from iTunes as well as: www.columbopodcast.com/

cropped-cropped-columbo-logo

This entry was posted in 'In praise of ...', Columbo. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The Columbo podcast

  1. tracybham says:

    Happy birthday to your father, Sergio. You and your dad both have good taste in liking the Columbo series. We have watched every episode, most of them twice, and some of them 3 or 4 times.

  2. le0pard13 says:

    Awesome. You and your dad have excellent taste. Thanks for the podcast link for another of my all-time favorite crime shows, Sergio.

  3. Colin says:

    Firstly, I hope your father has a wonderful birthday. And it’s no surprise that the great taste in mysteries runs right through the family.
    Thanks for linking in to this site with the podcasts – I’ll be listening in to some for sure.

  4. Bill Ectric says:

    I’m watching Columbo right now!

  5. So glad this podcast is available!! Columbo was an excellent show, Sergio, on so many levels. Little wonder you and your father like it so well. Thanks for letting us know!

  6. neer says:

    Happy B’Day to your Dad, Sergio. May he have a wonderful time today and always.

  7. kathy d says:

    Happy birthday to your father. It’s great he’s still enjoying the crumpled detective and the Sicilian one.
    I liked Columbo. My father, a mystery fan, also liked the show.

    • Thanks Kathy – I remember watching it with my parents in the 70s when ti was first on – good to know that real quality doesn’t fade (even if we do, a bit … 🙂 )

  8. Santosh Iyer says:

    Buon compleanno a tuo padre, Sergio !

  9. Happy Birthday to your father, and long may he enjoy Columbo.

  10. Tim says:

    Great reminder of a great series. Now I have to find out if Netflix also has it. Thanks!
    Best wishes from an old blogger with a new blog:
    http://informalinquiries.blogspot.com/

  11. Paula Carr says:

    Happy Birthday to Dad!

    Wow, I didn’t realize how many episodes were made. I watched them first run as a kid, and this show was always a appointment TV for my family. I LOVE Peter Falk. He had a wonderful small part as side-kick to villain Jack Lemmon in “The Great Race,” and he was simply wonderful in “The In-laws.” Do NOT watch the awful remake with Michael Douglas. The original is sooooo much better. Serpentine, Shelly, serpentine!!!! He was so good, because he maintained the ambiguity of the character and kept you guessing as to whether he was a genuine spy or just nuts. Love.

    • Not seen the remake Paula but I loved the original. I suspect there may be younger viewers who know him best as the grandfather in PRINCESS BRIDE of course 😀

  12. Good wishes to your Dad, Sergio. “COLUMBO” sounds good more so since I haven’t watched a good cop show. I know I have seen Peter Falk in a few outings though I remember him most for THE CALIFORNIA DOLLS (ALL THE MARBLES). And that’s because one of my friends didn’t look 18 and was refused entry in the theatre. The rest of us went in and watched it anyway!

  13. Haven’t though about that film in forever – not Falk’s best! Hope you get to try a COLUMBO soon, it is wonderful.

  14. Thanks for the post. My Dad liked this show, too. Columbo originally rotated on Sunday nights with “McMillan & Wife” with Rock Hudson and Susan St. James, and with “McCloud” with Dennis Weaver. We watched them all, but he liked Columbo best.

    • I remember those shows being on the TV but have never really watched them again so, unlike Columbo, it all seems a bit hazy. I remember The Thin Man and Coogan’s Bluff, on which they were respectively based, much more clearly. Thanks Elgin.

  15. Steve says:

    Columbo was such a great series. I must have seen each episode four or five times and I still love watching them. I have the box set in the shape of a cigar box and not a week goes by without me watching an episode or two.

Leave a Reply

