MR CAMPION’S FAULT by Mike Ripley

Ripley_Campions-FaultAlmost exactly fifty years after the death of Albert Campion creator Margery Allingham (1904-1966), her celebrated sleuth is back in action thanks to Mike Ripley with Mr Campion’s Fault, the third in his new series, following on directly from the original books.

The first two were Mr Campion’s Farewell (2014), which I previously reviewed here, and Mr Campion’s Fox (2015). So what next for our aging but still agile ‘tec and his extended family?

Here’s the blurb, beneath the fold:

Margery Allingham’s Mr Campion finds himself a fish out of water when he investigates a murder in a Yorkshire mining village. Following the death of the senior English master in a tragic road accident, Mr Campion’s son Rupert and daughter-in-law Perdita are helping out at Ash Grange School for Boys, where Perdita’s godfather is headmaster. While Perdita is directing the end-of-term play, a musical version of Dr Faustus, Rupert is tackling the school’s rugby football team – and both of them are finding their allotted tasks more of a challenge than they had anticipated. When the headmaster telephones Albert Campion to inform him that Rupert has been arrested, Mr Campion heads to Yorkshire to get to the bottom of the matter. There are no secrets in the traditional mining village of Denby Ash, he’s told – but on uncovering reports of a disruptive poltergeist, a firebrand trade unionist, a missing conman and a local witch, he finds that’s far from being the case. And was the English master, Mr Browne’s, death really an accident…?

The book will be published by Severn House in the UK at the end of May.

Hat-suede-fedora-icon

This entry was posted in Albert Campion, Margery Allingham, Mike Ripley. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to MR CAMPION’S FAULT by Mike Ripley

  1. Thanks for sharing the news, Sergio. Mike Ripley certainly has a lot of talent, and it’ll be interesting to see what this one’s like.

  2. I’m going to have to read Margery Allingham first before I pick up the Mike Ripley series. Thanks for bringing Ripley’s latest Albert Campion offering to my notice, Sergio. It does have an interesting storyline, especially the character elements towards the end.

  3. JJ says:

    I love Allingham’s writing – not so much her plotting sometimes, but her writing is divine – and am interested to see how this turns out even though I’m unlikely to ever pick it up myself (nothing personal, I’m just wary of continuations – the Sophie Hannah and Charles Osborn “extra” Agatha Christie novels fill me with the same indifferent malaise).

    Part of me wonders if Campion is too much of an acquired taste to be really successful in this day and age, too; for all the success of the “mysterious stranger” archetype, there’s so much unresolved about Campion that I can see the resolution-hungry masses not necessarily clutching him to their bosom. Looking forward to your thoughts on this when it’s released, anyway.

  4. Yvette says:

    I was never a big fan of the original Campion (couldn’t stand the Lugg character) and so I’ve only ever read a couple of the books. But I must say in all fairness that MORE WORK FOR THE UNDERTAKER was pretty good. BLACK PLUMES (without Campion) was very enjoyable.

    I’m not a big fan of continuations either except when I am. As in: the Spenser ones by Ace Atkins and the Sherlock Holmes ones by Laurie R. King. But I would never NEVER read any continuation of Agatha Christie. Nope.

    What’s your take on those, Sergio?

    • I have managed to stay away from the Sophie Hannah as it just sounded pretty horrible to be honest, and i am far from a worshipful follower of Christie – sorry that Lugg proved an impediment (though he’s not in them that much you know, and TIGER IN THE SMOKE is just sensational). I remember quite liking Parker’s POODLE SPRINGS but hating PERCHANCE TO DREAM, his sequel to THE BIG SLEEP, so I just take them one book at a time. Mike has done these with a great deal of love and affection – and talent too!

  5. Colin says:

    Currently working my way through Mystery Mile, not a big book by any means but my schedule just now is slowing down my progress – so far, so good though.

    • Glad you are enjoying it – very much in the early adventure mould that changed with POLICE AT THE FUNERAL (1931) though SWEET DANGER (1933) returned to the style and did it very nicely!

  6. tracybham says:

    I have read all the Allingham’s and would reread more of them if I had time. I did read Mr Campion’s Farewell by Ripley and enjoyed it, I will continue on with those also.The description of this one sounds good.

  7. I’m never sure about continuations, but I do love a book set in a school…

Leave a Reply

