Vote for your favourite Hitchcock movie – part 1

Alfred_HitchcockSpurred on by quizzes and polls so well executed by my blogging buddies the Puzzle Doctor and Margot Kingberg, I thought I’d have a go too – and start with probably the most famous movie director ever, Alfred Hitchcock.

I’ve had to segment this because, with a career spanning six decades, otherwise it was just going to be too overwhelming, so I have broken it down into periods, not least to pinpoint some of his least well-known works – because Hitchcock, the ‘Master of Suspense’ made all kinds of movies. So, here is part one, devoted to his early British work …

“I am a typed director. If I made Cinderella, the audience would immediately be looking for a body in the coach.”

Born Alfred Joseph Hitchcock in London 13 August 1899, the son for a greengrocer would go on to become Britain’s most celebrated filmmaker and arguably the only director to have a style to distinctive that entire feature films have been made either copying his style (well, you name it, from intelligent hommages by the likes of Chabrol and de Palma to a trillion cheap knock-off of Psycho) or parodying it (most notably, Mel Brooks’ High Anxiety). By the time of his death on 29 April 1980 he had directed some 54 feature films and nearly two dozen television dramas. But where did it all start? Hitchcock made all sorts of films, especially in his early years in Britain in the 20s and 30s, as likely to make a film about boxing (The Ring) or a domestic drama about infidelity (The Manxman) as to adapt a comedy by Noël Coward (Easy Virtue) or a musical biopic (Waltzes from Vienna).

Alfred Hitchcock and his partner Alma Reville strike a publicity pose on the set of 'The Mountain Eagle' - now alost film

Alfred Hitchcock and his partner Alma Reville strike a publicity pose on the set of ‘The Mountain Eagle’ – now a lost film

For this poll I have included all his films from 1920s except his Western, The Mountain Eagle, which is still missing, believed lost. I will then post another poll tomorrow that will cover the 1930s. This concludes his ‘British period’ so then we will move on this his decades in Hollywood.

For each poll please select your top 2 choices. I will leave the polls open for a week and will report back on the result once the polls close to narrow it down to one title per decade (with the exception of the 60s and 70s, which I have joined together due to the much smaller number of films produced in that time).

So, ready? Let’s go – and let’s hope the starting pistol is only loaded with blanks!

Hat-suede-fedora-icon

This entry was posted in 'In praise of ...', Alfred Hitchcock, Film Poll. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Vote for your favourite Hitchcock movie – part 1

  1. Santosh Iyer says:

    Well, I have voted !

  2. What a great idea, Sergio! I’ll be really interested to see your results!

  3. Colin says:

    My vote’s been cast! This is the easy round for me though – this is going to get progressively harder as you move to later parts of his career.

  4. Santosh Iyer says:

    The Lodger is very likely to be one of the winners from this decade !

  5. richmonde says:

    So, ready let’s go – WHERE?

  6. Bev Hankins says:

    I’ve voted! Yay for polls–thanks for putting this one together, Sergio.

  7. tracybham says:

    I did not vote on this one since I have not seen any of the movies. But looking forward to the results and future polls.

  8. Pingback: Vote for your favourite 1930s Hitchcock movie | Tipping My Fedora

  9. Sergio, I haven’t seen a lot of Hitchcock films, so I’ll wait for the results and let those influence me.

  10. Great idea! Easy choice this time, as I am always fascinated by Ivor Novello, and one of his is considered much better than the other.. Mind you, the Coward adaptation might have taken over if I’d ever seen it – easy virtue is a good story. But if it’s silent you’d lose all that Coward dialogue… I’ve only just realized I could’ve had 2 votes, but that will be more of a useful feature in the later decades for me…

    • Thanks Margot – Easy Virtue is an interesting movie but not many have seen it, not leasty because unfortunately it only exists in a pretty poor print, so often gets neglected for that reason too

  11. Brad says:

    Love this poll, almost as much as I love Hitchcock, my favorite director! Can’t wait to see the results!

  12. Are any of these available to view online? I haven’t seen any of them!

  13. Pingback: Hitchcock in the 1940s – vote now! | Tipping My Fedora

  14. Pingback: 1950s Hitchcock – vote for the best | Tipping My Fedora

  15. Rosemary says:

    Couldn’t vote on this one as I’m not sure I’ve seen a whole film although the Lodger and Blackmail are familiar. Wish the BBC would do seasons of these.

    • They used to be so common but with video availability I can understand why they do it less. Blackmail for me is a real masterpiece (and fascinating to compare the sound and silent versions)

  16. Pingback: Hitchock in the 60s and 70s – time to vote | Tipping My Fedora

Leave a Reply

