Once Upon a Time Challenge IX

oncetimenine250The Once Upon a Time Challenge IX runs until 21 June and describes itself as “a reading and viewing and gaming event that encompasses four broad categories: Fairy Tale, Folklore, Fantasy and Mythology and allows for very minor (1 book only) participation as well as more immersion depending on your reading/viewing/gaming whims.” I have signed up for ‘The Journey’ which is the lowest level entry point, committing me to just one book review over the period. I hope I can manage that! I definitely plan to read Bridge of Birds by Barry Hughart and hopefully a few others too. For more info, see what host Carl V. Anderson has to say over at his blog, Stainless Steel Droppings.

And thanks as always to TracyK of Bitter Tea and Mystery for drawing my attention to the Challenge.

This entry was posted in Once Upon A Time IX Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Once Upon a Time Challenge IX

  1. Sergio, I admire you and Tracy for taking up reading challenges. I shudder at the thought, not because the challenge may be a difficult one to accomplish but because I don’t trust myself to deliver the goods on time.

  2. I really do admire the way you’re taking up this challenge, Sergio. I’ll be interested in the reviews you do for this one.

  3. tracybham says:

    Thanks for the link to my blog, Sergio. I do love Carl’s enthusiasm about these challenges and his approach to this challenge. Bridge of Birds sounds interesting.

  4. Mike says:

    This sounds like really good fun – a genre I used to love as a teenager and have revisited more and more in recent years with the likes of Ice and Fire, and indeed any books that don’t rip off Tolkein, the dearth of which made me very bored of fantasy literature the first time around.

    I have had Scott Lynch’s The Lies of Locke Lamora on my wishlist for some time now so perhaps it’s time to make that wish become a reality.

    • I read the first of the Martin series, really liked it, saw the first season of the show, and then stalled, despite liking them – I’m hoping the challenge will stimulate my inner 13-year old again!

  5. Colin says:

    As always, Sergio, your seemingly boundless energy when it comes to these challenges never fails to impress.

  6. I hadn’t heard about this before (weird that I would though a blog about crime fiction!), but I would like to get back into the habit of review writing so I’ve signed up. Thanks for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

