Buon Natale 2014

Statham_Wild-Card

2014 has been very busy – but will it be remembered as a vintage year?

I managed to complete both the Golden and Vintage Mystery Challenges set by Bev at My Reader’s Block – it nearly killed me, but 72 book reviews and 12 bingos later, I am feeling very proud of myself. I also co-hosted Katie’s 2014 Book-to-Movie Challenge at Doing Dewey and clocked up some 45 reviews for that one. Most of us on the interwebsphere this year contributed to Todd Mason’s Tuesday’s Overlooked Film meme, which has been a bit quiet of late but will hopefully return to us soon, and Patti Abbott’s Friday’s Forgotten Book celebration over at Pattinase – special thanks to both of these fine folks for looking after us.

We also got to celebrate all thing John Dickson Carr this year, thanks especially to the Puzzle Doctor and to all of you who participated on the Carr Top 10 Poll which was great fun. Related thanks to Curtis Evans of The Passing Tramp for including one of my essays on Carr in his book on Douglas G. Greene – such an honour to be involved.

Theron-Affleck-Reindeer-Games

The big movie mystery of the year was probably Gone Girl but I wasn’t too impressed – much rather watch Ben Affleck dressed as Santa squaring off against Charlize Theron in the unpretentious neo-Noir Reindeer Games again frankly. However, I read a lot more books than I watched movies in 2014 and in this I was helped enormously by our good friends in the blogging community.

As ever, special thanks to Colin of the fab Riding the High Country for being such a good bloke; Mike Ripley for the scabrous off-site conversations; Steve for helping me get the ball rolling; the ultra prolific Margot Kinberg of Confessions of a Mystery Novelist for her endless support; John F. Norris of Pretty Sinister Books remains a massive source of enthusiastic information and we are all in his debt; and the world would be much less fun without the blogging of Patrick, Santosh, Moira (of the market-leading Clothes in Books); Admiral Ironbombs of Battered, Tattered, Yellowed and Creased; Prashant at Chess, Comics and Crosswords; TracyK of Bitter Tea and Mystery; Jeff (aka Kenji’s Dad) of The Stalking Moon; Kelly Robinson, of Book Dirt and now Film Dirt; TomCat of Beneath the Stains of Time; Yvette and her evergreen in so many words …  and Neeru of a hot cup of pleasure – they have also all been incredibly supportive – I salute you all.

And as for Mr Jason Statham, why is he festively featured at the top of this post? Well, we’ve never met, but in January his new film will be Wild Card, William Goldman’s own adaptation of his own hardboiled thriller Heat (which I previously reviewed here) and I am greatly looking forward to it. It looks like a much more faithful adaptation than the previous attempt nearly three decades ago starring Burt Reynolds – click on the photo and you can view the trailer. I may end up watching the film itself in Australia though as Fedora will be going walkabout again that month.

Hope to see you all again in early February 2015.

All riscossa!

This entry was posted in 'In praise of ...', 2014 Book to Movie Challenge, 2014 Vintage Mystery Challenge Bingo. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Buon Natale 2014

  1. Happy 2014, Sergio! 72 books, that’s an accomplishment. Looking forward to 2015!

  2. Thank you so much for the kind mention, Sergio! And thank you, as ever, for your excellent commentary and crime fiction books and films. I learn with every visit. Buon Natale!

  3. Santosh Iyer says:

    Buon Natale e felice anno nuovo !

  4. Sergio, thanks for the boost. Happy New Year to you! I hope you have a great holiday Down Under.

  5. tracybham says:

    Merry Christmas to you too, Sergio. I don’t know how you completed both cards for Vintage Bingo, and got all the Book to Film posts completed too. You are a dynamo of energy.

    Thanks for the mention. I will be looking forward to your return.

  6. Merry Christmas Sergio and here’s to 2015. Cheers!

  7. Colin says:

    Sergio, here’s wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year – that’s some impressive work you’ve knocked out in 2014, both in terms of quality and quantity.

  8. realthog says:

    Happy Christmas! And it’s good to find someone else who rates Reindeer Games! It generally gets slammed, but I liked it a lot.

  9. Peggy Ann says:

    Merry Christmas, Sergio! Thanks for another great year. Enjoy your walkabout!

  10. Richard says:

    Happiest of holidays, Sergio, and may 2015 be excellent for you.

  11. TomCat says:

    I hope you had wonderful Christmas, Sergio. And all the best for the New Year!

  12. John says:

    Hope yours was a lovely Christmas, Sergio. See you in 2015 when I plan to unload into the blogosphere another roomful of obscure writers and books to tempt and tantalize you with. And I hope to beat you at this coming year’s Vintage Mystery Bingo Challenge. I failed miserably this year. Bon Voyage and “see you” soon!

    • I rather enjoyed us being neck and neck this year on the challenges – frankly, I believe you’ll be beating the tar out of me in 2015. Can’t wait to see what you cook up for us – my wallet will be groaning with anticipation!

  13. neer says:

    Thanks for the kind mention, Sergio. Always a pleasure visiting your blog. Hope you enjoyed X’Mas. Wishing you and your loved ones a very happy 2015.

  14. Thanks for the shout-out, Sergio, it’s been a pleasure getting to know you better over the year. Happy Christmas to you and yours.

  15. Jeff Flugel says:

    Happy New Year to you, too, Sergio! Thanks again for the shout-out and all the great support you always give my own humble blog. Always much appreciated, my friend! Work and Dad duties have limited my commenting here as much as I would have liked, but rest assured I greatly enjoyed reading your posts and, as a neophyte John Dickson Carr fan, especially appreciated your very fun and informative Top Ten Carr poll. All the best toy you and your family in 2015, and enjoy your walkabout!

Leave a Reply

