Girl with the Dragon Tattoo movie poster

Daniel Craig is starring in a Hollywood adaptation of Stieg Larsson’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo directed by David Fincher.

The first movie poster has appeared online and certainly gives off a strong Noir feel highly reminiscent of the director’s earlier crime drama, Seven.

A considerably racier version of the poster can be seen here – it’s hard to imagine this being used widely, but you never know …

A trailer for the movie has also been made available officially after an apparent bootleg was leaked (or placed) on YouTube. See the official one here:
http://www.traileraddict.com/emd/40697

This entry was posted in Film Noir, Nordic crime, Stieg Larsson. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Girl with the Dragon Tattoo movie poster

  1. Yvette says:

    Much as I love Daniel Craig, and I do. This film is not for me. Didn’t like the books – well, what I briefly read of them. I may watch the foreign version of the first film only because I’m curious. But maybe I’ll only watch ten minutes of it. I do that sometimes. Just to see what all the fuss is about.

    I know I’m in the minority. :)

    • I’m am 100% in agreement with you – I think Craig is a splendid actor and is making a truly excellent James Bond and I am curious to see how this will adapt as a film – the trailer is very poor in my estimation but Fincher is an amazing director and should be very suitable for this material – in fact i am hoping the movie will improve on the book. In a an exchange of messages with Mrs P of the excellent Mrs Peabody Investigates (http://mrspeabodyinvestigates.wordpress.com/) I did get told off for being a bit sniffy about the Larsson books, which is fair since I don’t know much about Nordic crime fiction. I will concede that Salander is a character that has become a pop culture icon and is a truly fascinating one but I can’t take the Millennium trilogy seriously which for me tends to vitiate the attempt to discuss really important issues within them, which is a bit of a shame. So consider yourself in a minority of two on this score!

  2. Yvette says:

    Okay, we’ll be the minority of two – two voices of reason in a contrary world. :) It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one who didn’t go ga-ga over The Girl With the….whatever.

    I’ll take a look over mrs. peabody and see what’s up. Never heard of it.

    I admit I don’t know much about Nordic crime ficition myself – I have not read a lot, just not interested enough. It all sounds rather grim to me.

    Having said that, I have read some of the Wallander series and liked them. Years ago I read Wahloo and Sjowall. But that’s about it for me.

    I am not now nor have I ever been a big fan of ‘message’ crime fiction. That’s NOT why I read mysteries or crime fiction or detective novels. I mean, it’s okay if a message is sneaked in subliminally, but I don’t hit me over the head with heavy-duty stuff.

    Speaking of the wonderful Mr. Craig. I would cast him as Richard Burton in a minute in the upcoming Liz and Burton bio pix. I mean, it’s almost a no-brainer far as I’m concerned. :)

    • Yay, a minority if two!! My philosophy is there are some books that are inherently more serious than others but that it does not actually equate to their literary worth, only their ambition, and some of them are crime and mysteries and some of them are not – that’s me, a true literary Libertarian … The recommendations of Mrs P have been really handy for me as I would certainly recommend the Icelandic novels of Arnaldur Indridason – but they are very grim, no question about it – Craig as Richard Burton? The yes campaign starts here!

Leave a Reply

