Ragu in The Smoke – part 2

Tiger-in-the-Smoke-posterIn British parlance I am supposed to be ‘Exchanging Contracts’ this week – putting a deposit on my flat, binding all parties to the sale. These things always take longer than you imagine, however … so activity here at Fedora will slow down once again while I try to sort out my move to the foggy enclaves of old London Town (well, zone 5 on the tube anyway). I will definitely be back on 28 June to participate in the Elmore Leonard celebration taking place at the Pattinase blog.

And if I don’t see you before then  …

Mind how you go.

This entry was posted in 'In praise of ...', London. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Ragu in The Smoke – part 2

  1. Sergio, congratulations on the home run! The Elmore Leonard FFB ought to throw up surprises.

    • Thanks Prashant but in fact things are very far from settled on the home front … hence my time away from blogging! Yes, really looking forward to the Leonard celebrations. All the best chum. Sergio

  2. vinnieh says:

    Another great post, look forward to reading more.

  3. vinnieh says:

    Also, as you are a fan of spy movies, I recently reviewed Female Agents on my blog.

  4. Colin says:

    I hope everything goes as expected and you end up a step closer to that new home mate.

  5. le0pard13 says:

    Best to you, Sergio. We’ll be here waiting.

  6. John says:

    I love British parlance. “Exchanging contracts” sounds so official. We call it “closing on the property.” But it ‘s really nothing more than sitting at a table and signing piles of paperwork with a lawyer giving in rapid fire speech a summary of each document, not allowing you to read it in full, and moving you on so she can get to her next closing.

    Enjoy the exchange and limber up your signing hand. Oh, and congrats on the approaching end of this unusual moving ordeal. I know you’re not a drinker but I’ll be toasting you in abstentia when it’s all done and you’re safely settled.

    • Thanks John – I thought I was getting away reasonably unscathed but then all kinds of last minute hitches have popped up and delayed it all. But it warms my cockles to know that at least a little bit of Chicago is on my side! Cheers indeed!

  7. neer says:

    Hi Sergio, hope everything goes off smoothly. Will eagerly wait for activities to resume at Fedora.

  8. Jeff Flugel says:

    Hey, Sergio! Good luck on the move. My folks have bought and sold a lot of property over the years, so I know these types of transactions are often a frustrating experience, involving a mess of paperwork, plus all sorts of delays, false starts and other annoying things. Here’s hoping the transition will go as smoothly as possible. Hang in there – before you know it, you’ll be a full-time denizen of the Big Smoke.

    • Cheers mate – the paperwork I can deal with (I used to be a lawyer in a previous lifetime) but as you say, the endless delays and unexpected problems are really trying! Hopefully it will all be done very soon (at which point the financial pain will really kick in – aaargghhh)

Leave a Reply

