Pretty Sinister Books: Challenge to the Reader Trivia Contest #2

John Norris, the host of the exceptional Pretty Sinister Books blog, returns with his mystery competition. As you would expect from a man of his considerable knowledge, it’s not for the faint of heart. Frankly, it is thoroughly fiendish though John claims it is easier than last year’s. But there are prizes to be won and pride to be upheld so It is definitely worth a try. The Quiz is in 4 sections, broken down into Alternate Titles, Evidence, Dispatched with Aplomb and Commonalities and concludes with a picture round.

Entries are open until 16 December – and details on how to enter can be found at:  http://prettysinister.blogspot.com/

This entry was posted in 'Best of' lists. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pretty Sinister Books: Challenge to the Reader Trivia Contest #2

  1. Sergio – Thanks for passing this news along. I’ll have to get a whetstone and sharpen my wits…

    • Just remember Margot, John takes no prisoners! And there I was , feeling all cocky after doing so well in your locations quiz and then I got a look at what John has in store for us … can being humbled and shamed be fun? We shall see!

  2. John says:

    Thanks, Sergio! I already received my first entry and it has a very high score. Maybe it’s too easy this year. I hope not.

  3. Piero says:

    Facile? Sai chi possa essere Chris Dobie? Io ci sto perdendo i capelli ( e ne ho già pochi!)! Mi sa che manderò il conto del loro reimpianto, a John. :-)

  4. Piero says:

    Sergio, io ho ancora una promessa da mantenere. Se posso già venerdì prossimo, ti invio il famoso pacchetto: ho voluto aspettare per trovare qualcos’altro, ma di Halter non si trova più nulla. Ho trovato una cosetta di Steeman, però. Reinviami però il tuo indirizzo postale al mio indirizzo email, attraverso il mio blog italiano.
    Per il resto…alla fine di ottobre in Italia, è stata pubblicata un’antologia dedicata a Sherlock Holmes e composta solo da apocrifi: tra questi, c’è anche uno dei miei tre dedicati a Sherlock Holmes, il più lungo, una Camera Chiusa, con false piste, veri e falsi indiziati.
    Presto, lo stesso racconto dovrebbe uscire anche in e-book.
    Ciao.
    Piero

  5. piero says:

    Ti ho risposto via email.
    Che tipo è Patrick? Mi sono accorto che leggiamo quasi le stesse cose: Steeman, Halter, Derek Smith. Persino De Andrea.

  6. piero says:

    Beato lui. Io sto leggendo un Fernic ora. Questo credo non l’abbia letto neanche lui. E’ dannatamente raro da trovare, persino nell’edizione italiana degli anni ’40. Una Camera Chiusa francese del 1935.
    A proposito se leggi l’altra email che ti ho indirizzato, scoprirai una cosa molto interessante: facciamo lo stesso lavoro, solo in ambiti diversi. Questo oltre al fatto che il tuo cognome è come quello di mia madre. Ma quella..è un’altra storia.

Leave a Reply

