Blogs what I have read

Frederic Dannay and John Dickson Carr at the Edgar Awards in 1947.

Unaccustomed as I am to blogging (with apologies to the immortal British comedy duo Morecambe and Wise and their scriptwriter Eddie Braben), I just thought I’d stop for a minute or two to point with amazement at the apparent synchronicity surrounding the great time I have been having of late participating in the blogosphere. Without realising it, I seem to have joined a group of bloggers all of whom celebrate fairly traditional detective stories, with most of us in particular being great fans of John Dickson Carr and Ellery Queen.

There’s a lot of great crime and mystery bloggers out there and I have to tip my hat to several that I have recently had the pleasure of getting better acquainted with. Margot Kinberg at her Confessions of a Mystery Author blog provides detailed insights into novels of all shapes and sizes and open up some valuable and wide-ranging debates around them too. And she just posted a fiendishly clever quiz too, right here if you dare take up the challenge. Kerrie’s Alphabet of Crime meme has also proved particularly addictive and since joining with the letter F I have yet to miss a week – fingers crossed …

One also has to point to some truly indefatigable practitioners of this art: Bev Hankins at her My Reader’s Block where she hosts, amongst many other things, the Vintage Mystery Challenge is proving to be particularly addictive; and Yvette, who over at … in so many words has also created a blog packed full of wonderful things. There are of course several amazing resources online such as the encyclopedic The Mystery File and the Shots e-zine, not to mention the even more voluminous Rap Sheet edited by J. Kingston Pierce which recently celebrated its 5 millionth hit …

I started my Fedora blog in January this year because I really liked what Puzzledoctor (Steve to his friends) was doing with his In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel blog – having never even considered it, I thought I’d give it a go as WordPress seem to make it all so easy … (although I wish it was a bit more friendly towards those using eBlogger).

Below I wanted to flag some of the other blogs devoted to mystery fiction that have also started this year, all of whom have been kind enough at various to post comments here at the Fedora site and which I have found to be particularly rewarding. Thanks also for the pointers and the encouragement.

New blogs on the block …

At the Scene of the Crime
Patrick has only just turned 18 but he is way ahead of the crowd in his appreciation of the classic golden age mystery – he may not like George Baxt very much, but he knows what he does like and is equally adept at commenting on both sides of the fence.

Detection by Moonlight
TomCat is also a very opinionated reviewer and, apart from what appears to be a minor blip in terms of a real blind spot when it comes to Julian Symons, is someone whose opinions I mainly find myself in complete agreement – if only I could express myself as well and as forcefully!

In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel
The Puzzledoctor doesn’t give away anything in the way of spoilers, loves Carr and Queen and is also a big fan of Doctor Who and the Big Finish’s productions of the Time Lord’s adventures on audio (he can often be found setting me straight in my comments over at Audio Aficionado) – top bloke all round obviously!


Mrs. Peabody Investigates

Mrs P’s erudite site focuses on nordic fiction in particular and has introduced me to several new authors – I am particularly grateful for the discovery of Arnaldur Indridason – I have reviewed his first two books to have made it into English and certainly plan to keep on reading them. Thanks again Mrs P!

Pretty Sinister Books
John Norris is also a big Indridason fan but site offers reviews and related materials connected to a really wide range of authors, many of whom are completely unknown to me and makes for a real education. It’s also a great place to spend time gawking at the amazing book covers designed for these frequently forgotten titles.

In honour of Eric and Ernie, that great comedy duo, here is a link to a classic sketch with a crime fiction flavour found on YouTube …

Gallery | This entry was posted in 'In praise of ...', Arnaldur Indridason, Carter Dickson, Crime Fiction Alphabet, Ellery Queen, George Baxt, John Dickson Carr, Julian Symons, Locked Room Mystery, Nordic crime, Vintage Mystery Reading Challenge 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blogs what I have read

  1. TomCat says:

    Hey, thanks for plugging my blog and the totally underserved praise, but you can’t fault me for the fact that Julian Symons makes my skin itch! ;D

  2. Yvette says:

    Thanks for the plug, from me too. :) Lots of good mystery talk around these days. I’m making so many discoveries myself I’m running out of room to list them on my Home page. HA!

    Love all the vintage covers. The more vintage, the better. Too much is never enough as far as I’m concerned.

    Pretty Sinister Books is one of faves as well.

    A blog I want to bring to your attention is Less Blatt’s CLASSIC MYSTERIES.
    http://www.classicmysteries.net/

    When it comes to classic mysteries, very few know more than Les. :)

    I’m definitely going to be checking out the blogs you’ve listed that I’m not familiar with.

    Who knew there were this many people in the world who love mysteries?

  3. Hello Yvette – I’ve added Les’ excellent site to the blogroll, thanks very much for that. it is nice to be in good company, isn’t it!

  4. J F Norris says:

    Sergio –

    Molte grazie, il mio amico! I learn just as much from your blog as all the others. It was quite a year for new crime blogs – especially those of us who like to write about the oldies but goodies. It can only get better, right?

    Took Margot’s quiz and got 70% correct. I guessed on four questions and three of those guesses were wrong. Never heard of any of the Italian detectives (shame on me!) so I got that one wrong. I’ve not read any of the Vera Stanhope or Gema James books so I blew that question as well.

  5. Buon giorno John – very good of you! I did less well than that I am horrified to admit … but it’s definitely Camilleri’s gourmand hero Salvo Montalbano! Having said that, I have never tried reading those books in Italian and have no idea how the original dialect is being rendered (with great difficulty I would Imagine).

  6. Patrick says:

    Here I am catching up to the blog posts I couldn’t read or couldn’t comment on right away. Thanks for the plug! What can I say? It’s great to be part of the mystery-loving community!

Leave a Reply

